top of page
Search

What's in Your Desk Drawer?


Remember that no piece of honestly conducted research is ever wasted, even if it seems so at the time. Put it away in a drawer, and ten, twenty or thirty years down the road, it will come back and help you in ways you never anticipated. Sir Anthony James Leggett, theoretical physicist and professor emeritus at the University of Illinois.


When we cleaned out my in-laws’ home after both had died, we came across one drawer filled with calendars from years past. While my mother-in-law would stick cards and letters received in whichever drawer was available at the time, she had meticulously saved all calendars in one drawer. Whatever for? We all pondered.


Now I know today’s modern folks much prefer their electronic calendars over any paper one received as advertising through the mail or ones purchased at a store. And while I appreciate the daily calendar on the computer when I am working, I record all appointments and engagements and chores on a monthly paper calendar on my desk.


While I was growing up, my mother and grandmother kept a large paper calendar on one wall in the kitchen. It was handy for both of them. And there was room each day for them to to list any item they needed to remember. All of my activities were also listed on it.


When I worked full time at the newspaper, a daily calendar was my tool of choice. I could look at the day’s schedule without being overwhelmed by more lists for upcoming days. Each afternoon, after completing the day’s tasks, I turned the page to see the time of my first appointment the next day. If it were early, I went straight to it rather than checking in the office first. I found a daily calendar helped me best stay on track.


When I returned to teaching, we were given large desk size calendars with each sheet designed for the month. Again, I found this calendar version worked well for teaching and especially for keeping tabs on yearbook deadlines. Back then, we had multiple deadline dates. Because we mailed actual pages and photos to the printing company, we had to allow at least a week for transit.


But at home, I use the old fashioned, standard desk calendar. As we receive calendars in the mail, I love looking at the monthly pictures before I ever put a mark on any page. I keep one on my desk and another one by my computer.


And guess what, folks? During the pandemic, I began to save each annual calendar. I had a purpose. With the disruption that stay-at-home caused, I knew I kept accurate records on the calendar. During those days, most of our outings were for doctors’ appointments. Other than that, we scheduled grocery shopping early mornings on senior day every two weeks.


And why did I begin to keep the calendars? Believe it or not, they have served well for insurance, tax or other official business purposes. I have encountered more than one occasion when I’ve needed to recall when this appointment or that one had been scheduled.


I know that the older I age and the more complicated life demands become, I would be lost without my calendar.  My sister-in-law and I try to talk by phone at least once a week. But as times have changed, we now find that we must schedule our phone visits around all of our other appointments. That’s not always an easy task. But those preplanned calls go on my calendar like any other appointment. And I look forward to our weekly catch-up chats.


I still don’t know why my mother-in-law saved all of her calendars. But maybe in going through one, month by month, she was able to stimulate pleasant memories of that year’s travels and events. That, in itself, would certainly be a good reason to store a calendar. Or maybe like Dr. Leggett, she found a valid purpose for them ten, twenty or thirty years later. If so, she never shared her secret with us.


2023


40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page